Visitors to the south-east of England that are planning a stay in the Thames Valley Park area have many great local attractions to choose from.
Located on the eastern edge of Reading and residing on the River Thames, here are just some of the outstanding local attractions for visitors to enjoy:
Reading Town Regatta
With its roots dating as far back as the end of the 19th century, the Reading Town Regatta is an annual event that takes place in June/July and sees men and women from across the UK take part in a range of events designed to test their rowing mettle.
Attracting spectators from far and wide, the many races that take place are a fantastic spectacle for visitors to behold.
River Thames Cruises
Individuals planning a trip to the area can also enjoy the outstanding natural beauty of the region by booking a place on one of the many River Thames cruises that embark from Thames Valley Park.
Operating from Caversham to Mapledurham, visitors can enjoy a sedate jaunt up one of the most iconic rivers in the whole world, while enjoying plenty of onboard refreshments and simply watching the beautiful scenery float by.
Museum of Berkshire Aviation
Just a few miles from Thames Valley Park is the Museum of Berkshire Aviation, an attraction dedicated to the strong avionics heritage of the local area.
With exhibitions taking place at the museum throughout the year, guests can find out all about the history of British and Berkshire aviation in particular, while the museum also offers its own flight school.
Forbury Gardens and Abbey Ruins
Finally, visitors to the Thames Valley Park area hoping to enjoy the local beauty and learn more about its rich heritage should plan a trip to the Fosbury Gardens and Abbey Ruins.
Open to the public throughout the year, the gardens were founded in 1121 during the reign of King Henry I and continue to be a wonderful attraction for nature lovers to enjoy during their time in Reading.
The impressive Maiwand Lion is one of the most distinctive features of the gardens, with the statue a later addition in 1886.